Committees

ISCST Standing Committees


Nominations Committee


Current Committee Membership:

2024  Chair: TBD
Members: TBD

Responsibilities and Duties: A nominating committee appointed by the Board of Directors shall nominate a slate of officers consisting of a President, Vice-presidents, Secretary, and Treasurer. The members shall serve staggered terms of four years.

Composition: 5 members consisting of incoming chair (the past President and ex officio) and four at large members.

Previous Committee Membership:

2022  Chair: Brent Bell (brbell@wlgore.com):
Members: Marcio Carvalho, Mikhail Pekurovsky, Phillip Schafer, Randy Schunk
2020  Chair: Brian Higgins (bghiggins@ucdavis.edu):
Members: Blake Kolb, Jaewook Nam, Michael Joos, Philip Scharfer
2018  Chair: Satish Kumar (kumar030@umn.edu):
Members: Martti Toivakka (2014-2018), Randy Schunk (2014-2018), Michael Joos (2018-2022), Jaewook Nam (2018-2022)
2016  Chair: Andy Hrymak(ahrymak@uwo.ca)
Members: Martti Toivakka, Randy Schunk, Luigi Sartor, Katsuhiro Omori
2014  Chair: Michael Joos (JoosFM@Corning.com)
Members: Lorraine Francis, Hadj Benkreira, Luigi Sartor, Katsuhiro Omori
2012  Chair: Ted Lightfoot (E.J.Lightfoot@USA.dupont.com)
Members: Blake Kolb, Masato Yamamura

L.E. Scriven Young Investigator Award Committee


Current Committee Membership:

2024  Chair: Kristianto Tjiptowidjojo (kristianto.tjiptowidjojo@averydennison.com)
Members: Takeaki Tsuda, Philip Scharfer, Jaewook Nam, and Eric Vandre

Responsibilities and Duties: This award is given in recognition of outstanding sustained achievements or one-time breakthroughs in the area of continuous liquid film coating science and technology. Those nominated for this award must be forty years old or younger. The award will be presented at the Symposium.

The award will be presented at the Symposium (see here for further details).

Composition: 5 members consisting of incoming chair (Symposium Co-Chair), two previous award honorees selected by the Symposium Co-Chair, one member selected by the President and one member selected by the Vice President for the Americas.

Previous Committee Membership:

2022  Chair: Tequila Harris (tharris3@gatech.edu)
Members: Marcio Carvalho, Jaewook Nam, Kristianto Tjiptowidjojo, Takeaki Tsuda
2020  Chair: Michael Ulsh (Michael.Ulsh@nrel.gov)
Members: Tequila Harris, Blake Kolb, Lorraine Francis, Roger Bonnecaze
2018  Chair: Ilyess Hadj-Romdhane (ihadjromdhane@mmm.com)
Members: Michael Joos, Andy Hyrmak, Jaewook Nam and Philip Scharfer
2016  Chair: Priouz Kavehpour (pirouz@seas.ucla.edu)
Members: Marcio Carvalho, Juan de Santos, Blake Kolb, and James Lim
2014  Chair: Brent Bell (brbell@wlgore.com)
Members: Miguel Joos, Pirouz Kavehpour, Blake Kolb, and Mikhail Pekurovsky
2012  Chair: Marcio Carvalho (msc@puc-rio.br)
Members: Cyrus Aidun, Wilhelm Schabel, Steve Weinstein, and Juan de Santos
2010 

John A. Tallmadge Award Committee


Current Committee Membership:

2024  Chair: TBD
Members: Marcio Carvalho, Masato Yamamura, Ted Lightfoot, Brian Higgins, Peter Schweizer

Responsibilities and Duties: Recognizes an individual’s significant contributions to the understanding or improvement of the technology of the coating of continuous webs.  The award is presented bi-ennially, in even numbered years.

The award will be presented at the Symposium (see here for further details).

Composition: Five members: three should be previous honorees and two ongoing members: one member nominated by the President and the final member nominated by the Vice President for the Americas.

Previous Committee Membership:

2022  Chair: Randy Schunk (prschun@sandia.gov)
Members: Marcio Carvalho, Lorraine Francis, Blake Kolb, Leonard Schwartz
2020  Chair: Len Schwartz (schwartz@udel.edu)
Members:
Doug Bousfield, Brian Higgins, Luigi Sartor, Randy Schunk
2018  Chair: Lorraine Francis (lfrancis@umn.edu)
Members: Len Schwartz, Luigi Sartor, Yukio Yamaguchi, Joel de Konnick
2016  Chair: Yukio Yamaguchi (cerror@uah.edu)
Members: Ramon Cerro, Lorraine Francis,Michael Joos,and Phil Gaskell
2014  Chair: Ramon Cerro (cerror@uah.edu)
Members:Yukio Yamaguchi, Ta-Jo Liu,Satish Kumar,and Phil Gaskell
2012  Chair: Ta-Jo Liu (tjliu@che.nthu.edu.tw)
Members: Ramon Cerro, Peter Schweizer, Lorraine Francis, and Terry Blake
2010  Chair: Peter Schweizer (Peter.Schweizer@polytype.com)
Members: Brian Higgins, Ed Gutoff, Terry Blake, and Ta-Jo Liu


Edward D. Cohen Student Travel Award Committee


Current Committee Membership:

2024  Chair: Douglas Bousfield (bousfld@maine.edu)
Members: Hyunwook Jung, Shawn Dodds, Roger Bonnecaze, Philip Scharfer

Responsibilities and Duties: This award is given in support of student travel to the biennial ISCST Symposium to present their research and breakthroughs in coating science and technology. Those nominated for this award must be a student or recent graduate in areas of interest to the society.

The awards will be announced to the students at least one-month, but ideally two months prior to the Symposium. (see here for further details).

Composition: The awardees should be selected by a five-member committee.  The committee members are nominated by the Vice-Presidents, the Symposium Chair, and the Symposium Co-Chair.

Previous Committee Membership:

2022  Chair: Roger Bonnecaze (roger.bonnecaze@utexas.edu)
Members: Hadj Benkreira, Jaewook Nam, Satish Kumar, and Eric Vandre

Thank you for your upload