John A. Tallmadge Award for Contributions to Coating Technology


This is the preeminent award for engineers and scientists in the international coating community. It recognizes an individual’s significant contributions to the understanding or improvement of the technology of the coating of continuous webs. The award is presented biannually, in even numbered years.

Sponsored by: ISCST, and AIChE

Award: A plaque and $1,000

Previous Recipients of the John A. Tallmadge Award

2012 – Prof. Yukio Yamaguchi, University of Tokyo
2010 – Prof. Ramon L. Cerro, University of Alabama, Huntsville, AL
2008 – Prof. Ta-jo Liu, National Tsing Hua University,Taiwan
2006 – Dr. Peter M. Schweizer, Polytype Converting, Switzerland
2004 – Prof. Brian G. Higgins, University of California, Davis
2002 – Dr. Terrence D. Blake, Kodak Ltd., Harrow, Middlesex, UK
2000 – Dr. Edward D. Cohen, retired, DuPont Fellow
1998 – Dr. Kenneth J. Ruschak, Eastman Kodak Co., Rochester, NY
1996 – Dr. J. E. Hens, retired, AGFA
1994 – Dr. E. B. Gutoff, Consultant
1992 – Prof. L. E. Scriven, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, Univ. of Minnesota

L.E. Scriven Young Investigator Award


This award is given in recognition of outstanding sustained achievements or one-time breakthroughs in the area of continuous liquid film coating science and technology. Those nominated for this award must be 40 years old or younger. The award will be presented at the Symposium.

Sponsored by: ISCST

Award: A plaque and $500

Previous Recipients of the Young Investigator Award

2012 – Prof. Jamie C. Grunlan, Texas A&M University
2010 – Prof. H. Pirouz Kavehpour, University of California, Los Angeles, CA
2010 – Prof. Satish Kumar, University of Minnesota, Twin Cities, MN
2008 – Prof. Wilhelm Schabel, Karlsruhe University, Karlsruhe,Germany
2006 – Prof. Richard A. Cairncross, Drexel Universiy, Philadelphia, PA
2004 – Prof. Marcio S. Carvalho, Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2002 – Dr. W. Blake Kolb, 3M Company, St. Paul, Minnesota
2002 – Dr. Andrew Clarke, Kodak Ltd., Harrow, Middlesex, UK
2000 – Dr. Steven J. Weinstein, Eastman Kodak Co., Rochester, NY
1998 – Dr. Dennis Coyle, General Electric Company, Niskayuna, NY
1998 – Prof. Cyrus Aidun, Institute of Paper Chemistry, Georgia Institute of Technology-Atlanta

Nomination Procedure

Nominations must include a brief professional history of the nominee and specify how the nominee meets the criteria of the award. To submit a nomination, open and print the Tallmadge Award Nomination form, or the Young Investigator Award, (Adobe Acrobat PDF format) found at, ISCST Awards & Honors. Complete the form, and e-mail it with the necessary attachments by July 1, 2014 to Prof Ramon Cerro, (Tallmadge Award) or Dr. Brent Bell, (Young Investigator Award). The two awards will be presented at the 17th International Coating Science and Technology Symposium, September 7-10, 2014 at the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort, San Diego, California, USA.

Thank you for your upload